Why Write?

June 4, 2007 at 3:18 pm | Posted in Jessica, writing | 1 Comment

“Words – so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary, how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.”
– Nathaniel Hawthorne

When the three of us ‘purple hearts’ got together to discuss this blog and what we wanted to accomplish with it, we talked about the importance of information sharing and the support that we gained from one another while we traveled on our writing paths. We know that there are fellow writers out there confronting the same pitfalls and embracing the same successes so we created this space as a place where we could collectively share the bumps on the road to publication. And we are thrilled that you are here to join us.

This week we wanted to start things off with a little get-to-know-you post, the topic of the week being, ‘Why do you write?’

I love books and I read a lot. And I always look forward to reading the authors’ acknowledgement pages and bios because, as a reader, I feel as though I get the chance to connect with the authors on a level aside from what is in the story they have written.

The more bios I read the more I realize that my writing path differs from most others’.

I got my love of reading from my parents, always indulging my inner-child’s need to hear stories. My father was (still is) a great storyteller and my parents constantly read to me when I was young. As an adult, I turned to books for entertainment, scholarly pursuit, or to just plain cope with life’s curveballs, and the more I read the more I admired the ability to string words together . . . to convey meaning, elicit emotion, provide escape, persuade, debate, flatter, love, defend, etc. Words are powerful. And puzzling through the myriad word choices to create just the right sentiment is a skill and a gift that I wanted to possess.

So, yes, I have the voices in my head and stories that clamber to be told. But I write simply because I love to read. Because I love puzzles. And because there is nothing quite like the gift of a precisely written word.

-Jessica

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yayyyyy I can comment. I think my friends and family would all tie me to the computer if I didn’t write. I’m so much calmer when I do. LOL.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

