Goals vs. deadlines

June 22, 2007 at 3:41 pm | Posted in goals, Meg, writing | Leave a comment

I’m not a big goal person, or at least not as big as my fellow heartlettes. Sure I make writing goals, but I see them more as wishes than concrete things that need to get done. Why? Because writing is meant to relieve my stress, not add to it.

In my house, my writing comes last. Family, work, friends, dishes, next week’s yard sale, etc. takes precedence. Therefore if I set a goal to finish x number of pages in a week, I get frustrated with family, friends, household responsibilities that keep me from reaching my goal. That causes stress I don’t need. So any goals I set are wishes to fulfill, not set in stone.

However, deadlines are something different. They are external and not something I have control over. I HAVE to meet these or else there will be a consequence. I will set aside time, hire a babysitter, ignore the pile of laundry to be folded, etc. in order to make the deadline.

My current goal is to finish my manuscript by the end of summer to get it ready to send out in the fall. Will this happen? I hope so. But if any editors or agents want to contact me and give me ‘the call’ for publication or representation before that, forcing me on a deadline of September 1, I’d appreciate it! (wink wink)

-Meg

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

