Decisions, decisions

July 2, 2007 at 8:43 am | Posted in career, Jessica, writing | Leave a comment

The three of us at the Purple Hearts usually predetermine our writing schedule from among a variety of topics each month so that we know how to guide our posts from week to week.  Well, here we are in the first week of July (already?!) and we had yet to choose our writing topics. 

So, I made the executive decision to talk about, well, decisions.

My writing confidence has taken plenty of hits over the years, but lately it feels slightly more shaken than stirred.  I can’t quite articulate why other than to say that the more I learn about writing, the less I seem to know.  And I have hit the seemingly infinite plateau where this knowledge makes me question, ‘Will I ever get it?’ 

My answer to myself is always the same: Who knows?

What I do know is that I will never get any better if I don’t continue to try. 

Here’s my executive decision: I will not be the one to take me out of the game.  I figure there are plenty of other obstacles in my path to reaching my goals and I don’t need to get in my own way.  Easier said than done, but if I don’t get to where I want to go I don’t want to look back on the experience and realize it was because I prevented myself from getting there.

So while many of my colleagues are gearing up for the RWA National Conference taking place in Dallas later this month, I am going to re-dedicate myself to writing and learning and improving. If nothing else, I do not want to be at this same skill level this time next year.    

That’s how I’m going to keep myself in the game this summer. What about you?

-Jessica

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

