What Does Your Dream Look Like?

July 30, 2007 at 1:51 pm | Posted in career, inspiration, Jessica, life, writing | 1 Comment

“My dream is to spend my life doing what I feel that I was born to do.” – Paul Potts

There are certain pieces of music that touch my heart, and a performance of the Puccini aria, “Nessun Dorma,” from the opera Turandot, never fails to move me to tears. So when an ordinary car phone warehouse worker from South Wales stunned the judges, audience, and the millions of viewers of the show, “Britain’s Got Talent,” with a powerful performance of this beautiful piece, I hopped with great interest on the emotional tidal wave that followed his progress through the elimination rounds to the show’s finale.

For in watching this ordinary man show his love and talent for singing opera, we viewers got the chance to witness something extraordinary.

There are better-bred opera enthusiasts and more knowledgable opera critics than myself who also watched the Paul Potts phenomenon and chimed in as the proverbial wet blankets – with criticism about his voice and how it compares to the male opera stars of our time, and the likelihood that he could succeed as a performer.

I followed the hype with great interest because I know how terribly difficult it can be to not only admit to having the dream, but actually doing something about it. And to see this gentle, unassuming and unlikely hero step on such a huge literal and figurative stage in such a test of his confidence and ability – I couldn’t help but root for him from the very edge of my seat. With every note he hit (at least to my untrained ear), the tears streamed down my face – I just admired him so much and, after witnessing his brave steps towards his dream, I wanted so badly for him to succeed.

Oddly enough, I thought that Simon Cowell summed it up best: “I like shows where somebody isn’t a professional, has a talent, isn’t aware of it, has a normal job and then you see something else. I like that.”

My hope for any of us mere mortals with a dream is that we take these chances and share our talents with the world. Paul Potts did, and not only did he win this round of “Britain’s Got Talent,” but he also won the chance to sing before the Queen. And, oh yeah, his debut cd, One Chance, will be available July 30, 2007.

If you haven’t seen the clips of any of his performances on the show, you can find them on You Tube. Click here to connect to the clip of the first introduction to this new star and his initial performance of “Nessun Dorma”.

As I am so fond of quotations, I will end this week’s post with another favorite by Henry David Thoreau: “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined.”

That’s my dream for you!
-Jessica

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. As one who is following his dreams…I thank you for this blog…aloha


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

