The World In My Head

August 15, 2007 at 11:30 am | Posted in Bria, creativity, Fast Draft, inspiration, writing | Leave a comment

“But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.” W.B. Yeats (1865-1939), Irish poet, playwright.

Where do I write? If you want to know where to physically find me as I type away, I’m generally at the Barnes and Noble two towns over. They have an overstuffed chair section squeezed up against the windows between biography and sports – typically a quiet place to do my thing. But if you want to know where I write, that’s a little harder.

As Fast Draft begins again, I live in my head as I walk through the world.

My dreams have returned. I dream of Brennid and Faela in Technicolor reality, something that I cannot even reach for in my waking hours. I walk with them and feel their emotions and smell the dankness of a cavern or the smoke from the fire. The moonrise ritual each night dances before my eyes, as the water hits the ground and seeps through the sand.

Walking down the street this morning, Faela and I had a conversation about why she cannot align her duty with her desire. I asked her if it was not duty, isn’t it what she would have been looking for all along???

She had some choice things to say about my ‘dominating attitude.’ I tried to remind her I was the writer. . . that didn’t go so well.

Later, as I was cooking dinner, Brennid stood over my shoulder pointing out how bland my meal was. With his typical “In Seria we make everything an art to the senses. . .” statement, I finally tried opening that ‘new’ spice rack a friend gave me.

Thinking to escape them in the quiet of the shower, I let the water soothe me as I focused on anything that didn’t have to do with getting my 20 pages a day done. The headache that I’d been nursing all day needed some quiet to dissipate.

Yeah, did I mention that water is one of the two symbolic entities? The headache isn’t gone, but my central temple ritual is outlined.

So where do I write? I think the better question – if I’m truly chasing – is where don’t I write. Around us the world spins with Truths we bring to our work. Don’t let those moments and ideas slip by without capturing them.

So, Go Write!

-bria

PS – a Fast Draft team member asked me what I learned last time I Fast Drafted. Here’s what I told her.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

