Writing excuse #27: where I write

August 18, 2007 at 12:04 pm | Posted in Meg, motivation | 1 Comment

I’m feeling a bit rebellious today and am not going to explicitly write about the week’s topic of ‘Where I Write’ because I realized where I write is one of my biggest obstacles to writing. My computer sits in the corner of the house’s once dining room, now converted mudroom. In the winter, it’s too cold with drafts from the back door. The summer’s sun blazes through the same entryway. The computer chair itself is comfortable, but it’s not aligned properly with the monitor and neck strain is a constant companion. My writing place is uncomfortable, non-ergonomic and less than ideal. At least that’s what I tell myself when I’m feeling lazy or looking for excuses to lay on the couch and watch One Tree Hill DVDs from Netflix (ahh the guilty pleasure of a woman who refuses to relinquish her teenage dramas).

So instead of focusing on the negative, I’m going to write about what’s getting me in this computer chair… my fellow heartlettes. We’ve all talked about the importance of a support network if you’re a writer. Hell, you need one if you’re breathing. Agreed? Well, I have the best support group because they are teaching me to ‘chase’ my dream. To visualize, set up a path and use my energy to get there.

And what’s teaching them? I’ll let them tell you. I’d hate to steal their secrets or future blog topics and get the credit, and get kicked off the Purple Heart team. Because in the end, it doesn’t matter where I write, but just that I write. At least that’s what these ladies keep telling me. And they’re right!

-Meg

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Meg,
    Keep chasing! Best sellers like Nora Roberts and Debbie Macomber started out with typewriters on their kitchen tables. Heartlette=Persistent. We are cheering for you!
    -Jessica


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

