And the Reward Goes To…

October 7, 2007 at 11:26 am | Posted in inspiration, Jessica, life, rewards, writing | Leave a comment

“The reward of a thing well done is to have done it.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

I have friends who have a pretty significant reward structure in place so they always have a carrot dangling out there to help drive them towards their figurative destinations. I’ve tried to motivate myself in this way but it just doesn’t seem to work. I tend to cave and indulge in the ‘something extra’ that was to serve as my reward.

As I reported last week, I am struggling with the whole concept of story. The manuscript I just finished feels as though it has less a story arc but rather follows the frenetic jerk of a polygraph – my ‘arc’ feels just a bit too jagged. And if I let it get to me, it robs me of the joy. So when it doesn’t feel as though the writing is going well, just about everything else feels yucky.

I’ve printed out this vexing manuscript of mine and have planted it in the middle of my kitchen table to serve as my constant reminder to mold and shape it. And the stack of paper cuts me both ways.

Knowing this tall stack needs so much work puts a bit of dread in the pit of my stomach. But when I pass by all those pages as I get ready for work or make my dinner or sort my mail, a little flicker of satisfaction sparkles in my insides. I wrote that. It may feel like a jumbled mess when I try to dissect it in my head, but it’s my mess.

And while there are times that I hate it, I also absolutely love it.

Seeing the pages stacked up is my reward. It may take a long time for me to arrange all the words necessary to accumulate the appropriate number of pages, but the finished product gives me a satisfaction like no other. Those reminders come few and far between, but if I can up my productivity I know I can positively affect that cycle.

Every word counts! So whether you write 10 minutes or 10 pages a day, do your thing and do it well! As Bria often reminds me, the reward will be in just doing it.

Have a great writing week!

And I hope you will join us tomorrow when our Honorary Heartlette for October, Linda Rettstatt, will be with us.

-Jessica

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

