The Short List

November 21, 2007 at 11:12 am | Posted in Bria, writing | 14 Comments

Jessica covered basically every way a person can be thankful on Monday, so I’m just going to go ahead and BE thankful – Please comment and add to my brief list. 

1.           No matter what your complaints about our government, America is a FREE, safe country to live in where ever decision I make is based on a choice (no matter how slender I convince myself that choice is)

2.           The Heartlettes, The FlanTastics, The Divas

3.           My non-writing friends – who almost always put up with my Always In My Head writing self

4.           My health – Not a cliché, I’ve been in a place where I wasn’t able to say I was in good health and am forever thankful that I can list this here

5.           The freedom to chose and practice my faith

6.           That family is something you build around you, not necessarily what you’re born into

7.           That I DIDN’T marry that guy (come on, we all have a close call in our past somewhere)

8.           My apartment – Yes, I made the move a couple miles outside the city so I could afford to live in a one-bedroom and so Edith (my not so trusty car) could have a parking spot

9.           It really doesn’t take a lot to make me happy – STUFF, not the way to my heart

10.       Imagination – even as a child I pitied those kids who couldn’t SEE what I did – the ones who couldn’t fall into a book or play a game without strict rules and a round rubber ball. I love that I write – it is who I am. Oddly enough, my non-writing friends are quicker to call me a writer than I am — one more reason to be thankful for them!

As odd as this might sound, I’m thankful that I’m thankful. I know people who don’t even appreciate the things their given for free (NOTE: a friend of a friend’s father gave her an apartment, and a car, pays the rent, utility, taxes, insurance and gas. All because she was 26 and still living at home when he got re-married. – She is so angry its indescribable – Please never let me that person.)So, that’s my quick 10 – I’m sure that it’s not even close to everything I’m thankful for. Oh, I’d be thankful to hear what you’re thankful for!

-bria

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ll give my thanks: I’m thankful for creators of wordpress and other fine technologies.

  2. I’m thankful for…

    – my stalkers (even when they shift into hyper stalk mode while I’m trying to write)

    – Vault and Mountain Dew (can’t make it on 4 hours of sleep without them)

    – The Divas and The FlanTastics

    – My mentor, Cup

    – The stuff Bria mentioned

  3. Thanks Ladies –

    Yup, technology — the godsend welcomed by all writers!

    Mamad – try to keep the stalkers away from the caffeine – in your house it should be considered an “adult beverage”

  4. 🙂 I’m thankful because I’ve got other great writing friends like you, Bria.

    …Oh, and I’m also thankful for whoever the toilet cover. That guy/woman/it deserves a medal.

  5. I’m thankful for:

    Good How To Books – specifically Your Writing Coach by an author I can’t spell. Jurgen Wolffe, I think (bad me!)

    The Divas

    RoDiWriMo

    Hot tea and honey

  6. Yeah, I wouldn’t be able to function entirely without my FlanTastics and Divas. I’m thankful for my family and that none of us are dying. Financially we’ve taken quite a beating this year but I’m thankful that we haven’t reached the point where we would have to declare bankruptcy or started having things repoed because it could be SO much worse.

  7. I am thankful for the FlanTastics, the Divas, lickable men (without whom what would we write about?), chaps, boots, stilettos, whips, laptops, um…did I say I was thankful for the FlanTastics already? Oh okay…just wanted to make sure they were covered. On a side note…I am thankful for never knowing what it feels like to have TP stuck to the back of your pants when you leave the restroom.

  8. Bria, wonderful post. I am thankful for a happy healthy family, amazing writing buddies at the Divas and elsewhere, and for the Veterinarian who answered my absurd question about liquid silver and wolf scent glands…(gonna have to read my latest wip to find out what THAT’S all about.) 😉

    Sandy 🙂
    Sandra Barkevich – Romance Author
    *November 24, 2007 at Sandra’s Goings On – Guest Blogger, Sharon Cullen ~ Night Song

  9. I’m thankful for my mommy!

    And also my Divas/FlanTastics, I’ll second the vote for Mt. Dew, my laptop and external HD. I guess I’ll have to add NaNo, too, otherwise I never would have started this story this year.

    Oh, and The Rock. *girly sigh*

  10. I’m thankful for my Man Fan.
    I’d lose my mind without him…

  11. Wow! We’re lucky girls! I’m thankful for that – I’m thankful that my biggest tragedy lately was the ice cream falling off the stick and cutting my calorie intake.

    Thanks Ladies!

  12. You are so much like me, or i’m like you, well anyway, if we knew each other we’d make a good team, hehe, keep up the good work

  13. Electric guitars and heavy metal music.
    The Tudors (OMG, am I thankful for The Tudors!)
    The Man
    The Boy
    That I brought extra food for lucng today, cause I’m starving already.

  14. Thanks, Bria. I am grateful to be free, too! Free to drive, to come and go as I please, to clean or not to clean my house, to choose to read instead of doing that cleaning thing, to watch my favorite TV shows and have complete control over the remote, and free to pursue my writing dreams.
    Hugs,
    Jessica


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

