My muse is on strike

November 30, 2007 at 5:35 pm | Posted in career, Meg, motivation, writing | 1 Comment

I’m sure you’ve heard about the Writer’s Strike going on in Hollywood by now. Hundreds of writers, actors, etc. are protesting and refusing to write a word until demands are met on something to do with the internet and DVDs. Well, I think my muse, or whatever you call that writing angel that provides and guides your every word, is commiserating with these professional writers and is on strike.

You see, I’m not writing. And worse, I don’t want to. I have no desire to compose a sentence, create a character or plot out, well, a plot. Even writing this blog is tedious today (and something I’ve put off until 4:30pm) because I just don’t feel like writing. (Oops, I think I just committed blasphemy in the world of writers.)

What am I doing instead? Reading, watching TV, playing with my kids, spending time with my husband. Cooking and cleaning. Working the excess hours I’ve been scheduled this month. Taking a certification course on health and wellness. Applying for a new job. Writing grants to keep my old job. All those things I neglect when I’m caught up in my own head. And I’m loving it.

So, I plan to continue not writing for the holiday season. But do me a favor…if I don’t start writing again in January, will someone set up an intervention and negotiate with my muse to get her back to work? Give in to her demands, promise her the moon, do whatever it takes. Because a writer can only NOT write for so long without long term damage to our brains and souls.

-Meg

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Meg,

    Enjoy the break. I’ll be one of those giving you a nudge, come January! Sometimes you need to recharge, give attention to the rest of life that demands your energy. Sounds like there’s a lot on your plate right now. Give yourself permission to take the month off.

    Linda


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

