You know it’s Christmas when . . .

December 10, 2007 at 7:31 am | Posted in Jessica, life, writing | 2 Comments

Each year I try to start my Christmas shopping earlier but the intention has resulted in the opposite desired effect – I find that in trying to get everything done in advance, the actual shopping task takes me longer to complete and it also takes me longer to get into the holiday spirit.  I’m slowly starting to come around, thanks in part to my favorite things that I associate with this time of year:

I am writing this blog in the few minutes I have before I have to get ready for one of my new traditions – off to see the Nutcracker!  I started going a few years ago and try to see a production of it every year.  It always makes me feel festive.

Toys for Tots. My heart breaks when I think about the families whose children won’t have a new toy to open on Christmas morning.  Last year I bought a few toys for this cause, and it’s one of the things that I most look forward to doing again this year.  I can’t wait to go toy shopping!

The Salvation Army bell ringers.  These people stand outside stores, ringing their bells in yucky weather as more rude people than not pass by their collection bowl.  I’m not saying that anyone has to donate money to this cause, but a polite smile and a kind word for these volunteers might give them a little warmth on a cold night.  This cause makes me wish I had more disposable income to spread around.

Holiday movies – I love the movies from my childhood, my absolute favorite being A Year Without A Santa Claus.  But for me, nothing beats Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol.  My favorite version stars George C. Scott.

Christmas lights.  I could drive around for hours and look at lights, trees, wreaths, and bows.  I so appreciate the time and effort (and expense) that people put into decorating their homes each Christmas. 

Holiday music.  I’ve had my Christmas carols playing since early November.  My favorite holiday tunes are the classics by Johnny Mathis, Bing Crosby, Dean Martin and the Vince Guaraldi Trio.  But nothing beats hearing Nat King Cole croon The Christmas Song.

Bowl Games.  It’s bittersweet for me to see the college football season come to an end, but at least it does so in such a fun and frenzied way. 

The first snow, which I think is beautiful and magical and peaceful . . . and now that we’ve had it I’m ready for Spring!  Baby, it’s cold outside!

A few extra days off.  And I can’t wait!  I’ll spend some of this free time with my family but I also look forward to having an uninterrupted block to take care of the life maintenance that I’ve put on hold and to also make some significant writing progress.  It may sound oxymoronic to want to take vacation so I can look forward to getting to work, but that’s where I’m at.

Here’s hoping you’ll find time to write while enjoying your favorite things of the season.

 -Jessica 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jessica
    Thanks for reminding us of some of the festive wonderful things of this season and what the Christmas spirit is all about!
    Meg

  2. Ah, Christmas! I try not to think about it until a fortnight before. Then I find I enjoy it more.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

