Writer V Reader – The Wishlists

December 26, 2007 at 12:48 pm | Posted in books, Bria, writing, young adult | 2 Comments
Tags:

Our month of favorites is coming to an end, but I have one more week to throw a list against the wall and see if it sticks.Last week I attempted to hunt a book down.  All the libraries in my area listed it as being in-house, but each time I got there, it was gone. At the first library I noticed something I thought was odd, and checked at each consecutive stop to see if it was pervasive. The Luxe  by Anna Godbersen, was promptly displayed on all the YA “New In” shelves.  I asked a librarian if teens didn’t typically take off the “New” shelf and she said “Teens typically take what they want.”So what’s going on here? Ask a writer, YA or otherwise, if they’ve heard of this book that’s only been released this month and almost all of them will answer in the affirmative and say they’ve been waiting to read it.    I called some teens and asked them what they thought of it – “the what?” – was their general response. 

BUT, mention Stephenie Meyer, and kids go crazy. So, while out to dinner with three English teacher friends, I asked them what they thought of the beloved Twilight series. None of them had heard of it. Once I described the cover, one teacher said she’d seen kids reading it, but it hadn’t sounded that interesting to her.  Where’s the jump between long-awaited book in writer’s circles and with readers.  What sucks in teen readers but leaves “literary adults” out cold? 

  I’m hoping this doesn’t happen to the two books I’m looking forward to most this month: Tina Ferraro’s How To Hook A Hottie and the final book of Libba Bray’s trilogy, “A Sweet Far Thing.”     So, I’m dying to know – what books have you as a reader or writer, been surprised by their success or lack of success? I’d love a chance to grow my ever expanding TBR pile.

  Then, Go Write-bria 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Bria, I hope you have no trouble finding HOTTIE, and I also hope you enjoy it…

    As far as some good books I’ve read this year, I can recommend Austenland by Shannon Hale, Revenge of the Homecoming Queen by Stephanie Hale, and Graffiti Girl by Kelly Parra. They were all considered successful, and rightly so!

  2. I think it’s so interesting to contemplate the ‘viral’ affect of some books as opposed to others. Hype about The Luxe seemed huge to me and I rushed out to get it as soon as I could. But to hear that it seems as though Young Adults aren’t the ones taking it off the shelves blows my mind. There are some ideas I hear about and don’t understand their appeal . . . yet these books fly off the shelves. How great for these authors! But I agree, Bria – what’s the word-of-mouth secret to making them fly? This year I also anticipated the follow-up to Ally Carter’s Spy School debut, but it never dawned on me that this second book would have hit The Times list and stayed there for as long as it did. How wonderful for her and for YA in general!
    Just some .02.
    -Jessica


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

