Give As Good As You Get

December 31, 2007 at 10:47 am | Posted in career, goals, Jessica, motivation, writing | Leave a comment

While my Christmas was as hectic as I expected, it was much more emotionally peaceful than I imagined it could be. That, in and of itself, is one of the best Christmas presents I could have asked for. But if I dream big and dare to throw those big wishes out into the world, there are just two more things that my heart yearns to find under the tree . . .

An agent and a book contract.

So with this, the last post of 2007, I find myself straddling the line where the tail end of the old year falls on one side and the promise of the New Year awaits on the other. I got to thinking . . . if I toiled away on the groundwork in the old year, what am I prepared to give in the New Year to take the steps that will bring me closer to that desire?

Certainly, I need to find a way to produce the strings of words that will complete the projects I hope to sell. Ideally, I will have a product (preferably more than one!) worth selling. Realistically, I know I have some demands on my time that I will need to plan around to achieve any of my goals. Selfishly, I don’t want to sit down and write as much as I want to have already sat down and written. Grr . . .

Theoretically, if what I want is to get a contract, perhaps it will help if I give a contract. Karmic boomerangs and all that . . .

Julia Cameron, in her amazing book, The Artist’s Way, created a contract that she includes at both the beginning and end of the twelve-week course she lays out in the book. These contracts symbolize the participant’s commitment to the program contained in the pages in between.It is in the spirit of giving and commitment that I share the first of these contracts here (Cameron, p23):

    I, [FILL IN NAME], understand that I am undertaking an intensive, guided encounter with my own creativity. I commit myself to the twelve-week duration of the course. I, [FILL IN NAME], commit to weekly reading, daily morning pages, a weekly artist date, and the fulfillment of each week’s tasks. 

    I, [FILL IN NAME], further understand that this course will raise issues and emotions for me to deal with. I, [FILL IN NAME], commit myself to excellent self-care – adequate sleep, diet, exercise, and pampering – for the duration of the course.

    SIGNED

    DATED

Now, outside the context of The Artist’s Way, some of these references may not make sense, but I would challenge and encourage you to substitute those pieces with something relevant to you. So instead of ‘morning pages’ perhaps it’s your 2,000 words or 2 pages or 1 sentence per day you want to commit to. Or instead of the ‘twelve week course’ you have a four-month window in which to write your book. If you can boil your goals and your needs down to their smallest parts, there’s no reason why any one of us can’t take the steps to achieve what we set out to accomplish in the New Year.

Ready?

-Jessica

PS – I wish you a happy and safe New Year’s celebration – may 2008 be full of joy, prosperity, and success for you all!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

