Make life great in 2008!

January 4, 2008 at 9:37 am | Posted in goals, inspiration, life, Meg | 3 Comments

New Year’s Eve has always been my favorite holiday. I love that moment at midnight when past, present and future collide for one split second. You can feel the hopeful prayers resonate that ‘this is the year!’ For what? It doesn’t matter…what matters is the clean slate to reach for whatever goal or dream you have. To start over fresh and be the person you want to be…

In my last blog, I briefly mentioned my annual December trip through the calendar and how I lament the troubling times and relive the thrilling ones. In addition, I spend some time figuring out what went wrong- what areas of my life are draining me, what can I improve on, why am I not reaching my goals, etc. These days can lead me into a case of the blahs, but they are a necessary part of the process. That way, I can emerge on January 1 with a clear sense of how I want to live my next 365 days.

For example, in 2007, I chose the word ‘simplify’ as my theme. I decluttered my house (most of it- I think clutter reproduces while you’re sleeping) and held a yard sale. I got rid of anything in my life that drained me. Same with people- only surrounded myself with those who encouraged or inspired (yes you, Heartlettes!). In 2006, I decided to ‘follow my dreams.’ I attended my first writer’s conference and shared my writing with others. A successful year.

So it’s day four of 2008 and what is my theme for the year? I have the idea down pat, but it’s the succinct wording that eludes me. What I do have are three inspiring messages that will guide me at every turn:

On my fridge is a magnet that reads:
Risk- more than others think is safe,
Care- more than others think is wise
Dream- more than others think is practical,
Expect- more than others think is possible.

–Cadet Maxim (not sure if that’s the writer or the magnet maker LOL)

On my neck are charms from an Irish proverb:
Dance as if no one is watching,
Sing as if no one is listening,
And Live each day as if it were your last.

In my heart is a song by Martina McBride:
Anyway
You can spend your whole life buildin’
Somethin’ from nothin’
One storm can come and blow it all away
Build it anyway
You can chase a dream
That seems so out of reach
And you know it might not ever come your way
Dream it anyway
God is great, but sometimes life ain’t good
When I pray it doesn’t always turn out like I think it should
But I do it anyway
I do it anyway
This world’s gone crazy and it’s hard to believe
That tomorrow will be better than today
Believe it anyway
You can love someone with all your heart
For all the right reasons
And in a moment they can choose to walk away
Love ’em anyway
You can pour your soul out singin’
A song you believe in
That tomorrow they’ll forget you ever sang
Sing it anyway
Yeah sing it anyway
I sing
I dream
I love anyway

Those words will remind me to not worry so much about what other people are thinking. To reach for my dreams without regard for the chance of success. To take chances, work harder and never give up, even if I never make it. Because in the end, I’d rather say that I tried, than admit I didn’t.

So perhaps my short phrase for 2008 is: “Life’s too short.”

How will you live your life in 2008?

-Meg

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve looked everywhere for these lyrics! I couldn’t remember who wrote the song. Thank you so much. I’m adding it to my writing inspiration cd, which helps me get through those submission/writing fears.

    Thanks!

  2. Meg,

    I love the message in this blog. I’m a great believer in following your heart and living out your passion. For myself, the reward is not so much in the destination, as in the journey to get there. I love the three messages you’ve chosen here. I’d add something I heard included in the Irish proverbs: Love as if you’ve never been hurt.

    After a good friend of mine died from ovarian cancer at the age of fifty-seven, I found myself saying, “Life is too short” all the time. Well, it’s too short to get hung up on non-essential stuff.

    What a wonderful inspiration you’ve given us for starting the New year.

    Linda

  3. […] 2008, I will follow my personal promise made last week. In my writing, I will remember that life is too short. I will write when I want to and how I want […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

