The Book I Wish I’d Written

February 1, 2008 at 3:38 pm | Posted in books, Meg | Leave a comment
Tags:

It’s official. I’ve found the book I wished I had penned. The characters are memorable and leap off the page so much so that I could smell, hear and feel them long after the final page. The conflict is the ultimate tragic love story. You want to cry for the two main characters as they fall in love and struggle to resolve the issues that should keep them apart. And because it’s a romance, they do work it out, but not without pain and suffering and the knowledge that their love may not enough to keep them together. And finally the concept is so original that I feel I’ve never read a book like it before.

<!–[if !supportEmptyParas]–><!–[if !supportEmptyParas]–> I’ve been trying to figure out exactly what makes this book so great in terms of the writing (in addition to the above of course). And after a week of thought and analysis, the book works because there is not one useless word. Every scene moves the action forward; every sentence is simple and essential (even the dialogue and tag lines). Useless description or dialogue is trimmed and the unnecessary words are edited. I think there was only one paragraph that I glossed over (the description of teh hero’s home) when I have a horrible tendency to skim through multiple chapters of other novels. In contrast, I reread certain sentences often to drown myself in the emotion and sit in the scene. Now if only I could get my hands on the next in the trilogy.

So what is this fabulous book?

<!–[if !supportEmptyParas]–><!–[endif]–>Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight. <!–[if !supportEmptyParas]–> <!–[endif]–>

If you haven’t read it, get out to your local bookstore or library. If you have, let me know what you think made it so great.

<!–[if !supportEmptyParas]–><!–[endif]–> -Meg

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

