What Makes a Hottie?

February 4, 2008 at 7:27 am | Posted in character, hero, Jessica, Tina Ferraro, writing, young adult | 5 Comments

In having Tina Ferraro with us this week, we thought it might be a fun topic to talk about hotties.

I’ve had this conversation with my guy-friends and girl-friends alike – what are the qualities you find attractive? And it’s almost always a chicken-and-the-egg kind of discussion . . . you notice someone because you find him attractive, but then you get to know him and are attracted to his other qualities, which then makes him even more physically appealing . . . and those other qualities are what keeps you attracted. Or you get to know him and you learn about all those un-redeeming qualities and, on second glance, you wonder what the heck ever attracted you to him in the first place.

Either way, would you have even given him the time of day without the initial hot little zing that the first glimpse sends shooting from your tummy to your toes?

I admit, I am a sucker for tall, dark, and handsome . . . devilishly, deeply brown eyes . . . a crooked smile . . . beautiful teeth . . . has a great set of hands . . . and is someone who looks good and is as comfortable when he’s dressed up as he is when he’s casual.

I have to say, though, I think hotties come in all shapes and sizes. A bald muscle-man is just as yummy as a lean, nerdy-intellectual-in-glasses. It’s all about how comfortable he is with himself and how he treats the girl in his life.

And how adorable is it when he has some sort of idiosyncratic habit – maybe he crinkles his eyebrows when he concentrates, or ducks his head when he’s embarrassed, or stuffs his hands in his pockets when he doesn’t know what to say. Maybe his voice drops to a softer, hushed, intimate tone when you’re alone together . . . something that speaks more about the way he feels about you than any words can relay.

I love a guy who is intelligent with a smart sense of humor. Someone who has opinions based on experience, not someone who spouts off just to hear himself talk.

But I’ve also learned it’s not all about the packaging. That he’s at his hottest if he’s well-mannered, holds the door for me, or offers to help me carry my bags. That he shows concern, looks out for me, gives me space, or is there for me when I need him most.

My favorite kind of hottie is the one who makes the best kind of friend.

So in the spirit of hottie week here at the Purple Hearts, what makes your hottie list?

Post a hottie comment to any of the blog posts this week to be eligible for our end-of-week drawing to win a copy of Tina Ferraro’s How to Hook a Hottie.

Thanks for visiting! Keep writing!
-Jessica

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, Jessica, your description of the perfect hottie was almost scary for me…starting with tall, dark and handsome straight through the comfortable look, you have my type pegged, too!

  2. Tina,
    I hooked my hottie by saying these little words…”I’m falling for you like a blind roofer!” We’re hooked for eternity now!

    Chuck

  3. Hey, Chuck, thanks for dropping by here…and wow, can I use that line in a book> 😉

  4. Tina,

    You can you the line for a small fee–a free book maybe? 😉

  5. LOL, Chuck…I don’t choose the free book winner here at Purple Hearts, but good try! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

