Inspiration to Write

May 7, 2008 at 11:54 am | Posted in Bria, inspiration, writing | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

 

Inspiration is a funny thing.

 

It comes at weird times in different ways and surprising avenues. Sometimes just hearing or thinking about things outside your normal scope of interest can spur a inspired moment.

 

Here are some things that have inspired me in the last week:

 

Marissa Doyle’s first book, Bewitching Season, came out – it’s a fun read with character’s you’ll fall in love with. Don’t believe me? Go check out her character being interviewed at NineteenTeen for a chance to win a copy.

 

 

 

 

Marley Gibson’s first two books came out this week and seeing her joy – as well as getting to share it – at her book launch party was so inspiring!

 

My CP while looking at Markbearer came back this week to tell me how much she enjoyed reading it. My CP is asking for book two!

 

My characters have been driving me crazy. They want their stories told now! And hearing the questions people are asking about the next book, does this happen, is that person good or bad, will these two end up together. . . Is definitely inspiring!

 

StumbleUpon is a new toy for me. Sanroe was kind enough to kick off the Purple Heart’s summary page and now I’m addicted to clicking the next button to see what’s out there. I’ve found title generators, fun writing prompts, industry information, and other author’s sharing their stories – all these make me want to set pen to paper.

 

Other writers – I was lucky enough to hear Diana Groe (Emily Bryan) speak last night. She was witty, intelligent and informative. I’ve gone to hunt down another one of her books already. She told a great story about Staying Published – it really pushed me to keep moving forward.

 

Classes and Classmates – I’m taking Margie Lawson’s online class on Deep EDITing and highly recommend it. But one of the most inspiring moments so far was when Margie quoted classmate Nancy Haddock’s next book as an example. WOW! To get your book quoted in a class as a strong example of great craft – not to mention being in the class when it happened.  Plus, I was even more excited knowing that Nancy was blogging for us this month too!

 

Spring (or summer or fall or winter) – While fall will always be my favorite season, any time the weather changes seems to be a kick in the butt for me – Each season a earthy-makeover for the landscape around us.

 

So, find something this week that makes you look at your writing with new eyes, excited and inspired and then, Go Write
bria

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The Bewitching Season sounds interesting. If only I had free time to read. *sigh* Too many books, too little time…

  2. Great post, Bria! I agree that Marley’s party was very inspiring. I have an article on ideas/inspiration going in the May NEC newsletter, which should be out soon. It’s ironic in light of Kaige’s post above because the headline on my article is “So Many Ideas, So Little Time.” LOL! Glad to hear people are asking for more of your books/characters. I had that happen to me after I finished my first book. So many people asked me about one character that I wrote a second book for her that I hadn’t planned to do until people asked for it. That’s a good feeling and a sign that you are on the right path.
    xo
    Marie

  3. I’m so glad you were able to make my talk at the Waltham Library last night. It was so nice to see a friendly face out there.

    If my story gave you hope, then I achieved my goal. Publishing is an ocean. Sometimes, just staying afloat is half the battle.

    See ya,
    Em
    http://www.emilybryan.com

  4. Thanks Ladies!

    Kaige – Exactly. Enough said.

    Marie – Ideas haven’t become a problem yet, but I wonder when I’m done with this series what will be scratching at the back of my brain then? Something else that will take over my life for 4 years?

    Emily – I REALLY enjoyed the evening – You brought humor and knowledge to a tough crowd!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

