Fond Farewell

June 11, 2008 at 11:21 am | Posted in Bria, life, writing | 10 Comments

When I graduated from college and then later repeated the event with grad school, one thing stood out in my head, one question echoed both times.WHAT DO I DO NOW?

Not that I was directionless or jobless or ambitionless or any other -less you want to throw out there, but time-wise I was shocked at how much time opened up from clearing out something I loved.

And boy, did I love school. I’m one of those lifetime learners people either completely identify with or think are nuts. But, even with the classes, commuting and commitment ending with the diploma handoff, the drive to fill that time was still there. Read! Write! Study! are difficult habits to break.

And so, while writing my last blog entry for Purple Hearts, I’m walking away with some amazing things.

The habit of regular research: The publishing industry is a complex and ever changing world. Working with Jessica has been an amazing, eye opening experience. I know few people who not only grasp the information and intricacies of the publishing world, but hold them and balance that knowledge in their heads for further dissemination.

The habit of balance: Meg has shown me that sometimes, REALLY, saying ‘when’ is important. Sometimes just knowing we can say ‘when’ give us the freedom to follow what we want and combine it with what we need.

The habit of reaching out: I have been amazed and humbled by the people who have been guest bloggers, commenters, blog-rollers, subscribers and drop-by visitors of the Purple Hearts. I have learned more through things people said in passing here – that to them may have been common sense – than to a lot of craft books I’ve read.

And so, as I take these new habits and apply them to my writing life, I know that this year of blogging has created a new writing me. A great thing to walk away with.

Thank you so much to everyone who has, on some level, been a Heartlette and participated in our merry little blog.

Check in over at my page where I’ll be occasionally updating with Things I Learn, Authors I Love and * hopefully* someday The Big News: HERE.

Good Luck to everyone. Don’t forget to keep writing because that’s what will get us there.
-bria

 

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Adieu! I was amazed by the great content you had here. Great job and of course this is not the last we’ll hear of you I’m sure!

  2. It’s sad to see a place where I could regularly find such great informations, wisdom and ideas pulled together in one location wind down. I know a shift in venue won’t slow you down and I look forward to following along with your journey!

  3. Thanks for a great year of information and inspiration. Keep on keepin’ on.

  4. Thanks so much ladies – you’re support has been amazing. I feel blessed that I know you aren’t going away just because I’m not blogging any more 🙂

    Your input is, as always, invaluable to me!

  5. I’m sorry to see this go, but chi was right–we’ll definitely be hearing from you again. And it’ll definitely be with The Big News. Then I can totally gloat and be like, ‘I told you so!’. 😀

    Yes, I am evil. But I’ll miss you! You are totally wonderful, seriously. ❤

  6. Thanks Lanie — as if you’d have to read any Big News about me on a blog 🙂

  7. I’m sure lots of people will miss you! Can’t wait to skip over to your new spot. 😀

  8. Wow, I thought it was just Jess leaving. But you all are closing down for good. We’ll miss you. This might have been the only blog I checked regularly.

    Guess I’ll have to bookmark your new one. Good luck!

  9. Bethanne – as if you don’t see me 700 times a week already.

    Thanks Barb – I’m kind of excited to do something a little less formless and see what happens!

  10. Hey there. Your blog has shown me new and exciting things. Thanks for being here.

    I’ll have to trek over to the next locale to keep tabs.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

